About Us


Uplifting families on their journey to achieve goals that foster their emotional, financial, and personal successes while building thriving communities.


Advancing an equitable world where families are leaders in their lives and communities.

The Journey Forward is committed to helping increase the vibrancy of our community by helping families address the barriers that prevent sustainable living.

Originally established in 2007 as Workforce and Human Development Services, The Journey Forward has transformed into a local pioneer of The Family Centered Coaching model. We work with resolve to assist all of our clients in moving forward, working toward their goals, and striving for their dreams.

Leadership Staff:

Annemarie Fitzpatrick, Executive Director

Phone: 312-429-5945

Annemarie Fitzpatrick is an experienced social service professional with a master’s degree in Human Services & Counseling and earned professional certifications as a Financial Capability Coach, an Information & Referral Specialist, and most recently, the HUD Housing certification exam. She has extensive experience in developing and managing financial education and coaching programs.  She has focused her life-long passion for equity and social justice in advancing the mission and vision of The Journey Forward.

Anissa’ Jones – Executive Vice President

Phone: 312-429-5945

Anissa’ has her master’s degree in Public Administration and has more than a decade experience working in the social service industry. She has extensive experience with individuals and family services throughout Chicagoland. Anissa was instrumental in shaping the programs, partnerships and strategic vision of The Journey Forward.

Loren Seeger – Program Manager

Phone: 312-429-5945

Karen WalshDevelopment Director

Phone: 312-429-5945

Board of Directors – 2020 & 2021

PresidentAnnemarie Fitzpatrick, Executive Director, The Journey Forward

TreasurerLynette Briggs, Community Development Market Manager, Corporate Compliance, TCF Bank

David A. Day, Chief Operations Officer, Rainbow Push Coalition

Lesly Flores, Vice President, Community Development Manager, First Midwest Bank

Carine Gatabazi, Vice President, Branch Manager Wintrust Bank

Community Partners